dotProject Forums

Go Back   dotProject Forums > DOTPROJECT VERSION 2 > Permissions
Register FAQTop Posters Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Resend Activation Email Mark Forums Read
Bugs & Feature Requests Download dotProject

Permissions Because the permissions system is the biggest change in 2.x we have created a special forum for discussing items.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 14-06-06, 01:57 AM
SaintPaul SaintPaul is offline
Junior Member
New Participant
dotProject Version:
php Version:
MySQL Version:
Operating System Version:
Browser:
 
Join Date: 14-06-06
Posts: 1
Default Can't Login - No Error

Hi,

I have just installed dotProject on a SuSe box running apache 2 and php 4.x.

After the installation, I attempt to login for the first time with 'admin' and 'passwd' but the page simply refreshes clearing out the input boxes.

I do not receive any error message, my cookies are turned on and I am getting a cookie from the site.

Any help would be great!

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 22-06-06, 11:30 PM
pedroa's Avatar
pedroa pedroa is offline
Valued Users
Utter Fanatic
dotProject Version:
php Version:
MySQL Version:
Operating System Version:
Browser:
 
Join Date: 18-01-05
Posts: 3,554
Default Re: Can't Login - No Error

Hi SaintPaul...

How's Saint Peter and the rest of the bunch?

Sorry for not answering sooner, I have been very very busy, and since the forums does not make hands meet here, I got to catch my fish first and help the rest of the flock later...

Your friend sar has just bought a free ride for you to get your dotProject properly working from me... so lets have some fun.

Tell me a thing (or two):

How did you install dotProject, step by step as if I were really dumb (which occasionally I am), like "first I downloaded the zip file from sf, then I unzipped it to..." and so on and blah blah blah forth.

Thank you very much and enjoy the ride...

Pedro A.
__________________
Peace!!!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18-08-06, 05:12 AM
ugaMack ugaMack is offline
Valued Users
Frequent Visitor
dotProject Version:
php Version:
MySQL Version:
Operating System Version:
Browser:
 
Join Date: 17-01-06
Posts: 19
Default Re: Can't Login - No Error

I'm having the same problem... I'll run you through what I did.

First my system:
Windows Server
Apache 2.0.59
PHP 5.1.4
MySQL 4.1.7

--Basically, I followed the online instructions
I downloaded dotproject-2.0.4.tar.gz
Moved it to the server and decompressed the file.
I used phpMyAdmin to create a database named "projects"
In my browser I navigated to "dotproject/install"
Noticed my Session Save Path was not set properly
Noticed the Session AutoStart was not on
Opened my php.ini file
uncommented this line -- session.save_path = "/tmp"
changed this line -- session.auto_start = 0 -- to -- session.auto_start = 1
Clicked "Start Installation"
Left DB type as MySQL - recommended
I entered the DB hostname, DB name, DB username, DB password
Left the checkboxes unchecked
Clicked "install db & write cfg

I received no errors.

I clicked the "login & config" link, but when I try to login I get the exact same result that SaintPaul had.

I viewed the DB using phpMyAdmin again and it appears as though the default admin user has been setup properly. The admin user exists in the users tabel and the permissions table shows the following:

permission_id = 1
permssion_user = 1
permission_grant_on = all
permission_item = -1
permission_value = -1

Thanks for any help

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18-08-06, 06:47 AM
pedroa's Avatar
pedroa pedroa is offline
Valued Users
Utter Fanatic
dotProject Version:
php Version:
MySQL Version:
Operating System Version:
Browser:
 
Join Date: 18-01-05
Posts: 3,554
Default Re: Can't Login - No Error

"I used phpMyAdmin to create a database named "projects""

Did you just created or also populated? if the first ok if the second then drop it, delete the includes/config.php file and fire the installer again but don't create/populate anything this time.

What do you get afterall? a Login Failed screen or a white screen of death (WSOD)?

Cheers,

Pedro A.
__________________
Peace!!!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 18-08-06, 10:08 PM
ugaMack ugaMack is offline
Valued Users
Frequent Visitor
dotProject Version:
php Version:
MySQL Version:
Operating System Version:
Browser:
 
Join Date: 17-01-06
Posts: 19
Default Re: Can't Login - No Error

I just created the db, no population.

I get what SaintPaul describes. When I go to the login page I enter "admin" & "passwd" and click login, the page refreshes with the input fields emptied. No white screen, no error messages. It looks exactly the same as when I first arrive at the page.

Thanks

EDIT
----------
Just for the heck of it, I dropped the db & deleted the config file. Then I went through the same installation process without first creating the DB. I let the install do the creation. Unfortunately, I had the exact same result.

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 19-08-06, 01:34 AM
ugaMack ugaMack is offline
Valued Users
Frequent Visitor
dotProject Version:
php Version:
MySQL Version:
Operating System Version:
Browser:
 
Join Date: 17-01-06
Posts: 19
Default Re: Can't Login - No Error

Looks like the issue is with the php.ini file

Changed the session.hash_bits_per_character from 5 to 4, and it is now working.

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 11:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.